Board of Trustees

As an independent, non-sectarian, coeducational day school for students in preschool through eighth grade, The Banner School is governed by a self-perpetuating Board of Trustees. The Board of Trustees is obligated to support and further the general direction and mission of the school. Specifically, the Board is responsible for focusing on three areas critical to the success of the School: it selects, evaluates, and fully supports the Head, to whom it delegates authority to manage the school; it develops broad institutional policies that guide the Head in running the school; and it is accountable for the financial well-being of the school. The Board meets monthly or as events require, and at least 50% of its members must be current Banner parents. Trustees also include community leaders, business owners, and others who bring their professional expertise and vision to the school.

The 2019 Banner School Board of Trustees

Executive Committee

Mr. Curtis Dalton, President

Dr. Frank Nisenfeld, Vice President

Mr. Michael Lewandowski, Secretary

Mr. Jim Goad, Treasurer


Mr. Mark Bandy

Mrs. Ashley Egolf

Mr. Robert Iser

Mrs. Lois Johnson-Mead

Mr. Mark Leahy

Mrs. Melissa Shipley

Mrs. Gail A. Dobay, Head of School

Mrs. Tatiana Papantoniou, BSPO President